2017 Winners

Congratulations to the Winners and Official Finalists of the 2016 American Movie Awards.

Film Competition Categories

Grand Jury Prize

Poison in the water directed by Romeo Candido

Special Marquee Award

The Children of the Noon directed by Diego Fiori and Olga Pohankova

Special Marquee Award

Pasquale's Magic Veal directed by D.J. Higgins

Narrative Feature

The Last Beautiful Girl directed by James Christopher

Narrative Short

Me3 directed by Jason Baumgardner

Documentary Feature

Nanny Culture directed by Paul James Driscoll

Documentary Short

Do You Like Peacocks? directed by Mary Clay Fields

Animated Film

Schirkoa directed by Ishan Shukla

Foreign Film

Too Much Stress From My Heart directed by Ludovica Lirosi

Student Film

Endurance directed by Jimmy Carter

Sci-Fi Film

Capsule directed by Andrew Martin

Experimental Film

The Martian VR Experience directed by Robert Stromberg

Film Directing

Love 2.0 directed by

First-Time Director

Heart: Flatline to Finish Line directed by David Watkins

Music Video

Bobgoblin "Danger" directed by Hop Litzwire


My Last Concert directed by Selcuk Cara


Death in a Day directed by Lin Wang

TV Pilot

Shoot Me Nicely directed by Elias Plagianos


Immune directed by Dustin Prince

Best Actor

Kim Sønderholm in Run directed by Cato ML Ekrene

Best Actress

Monica Calhoun in Eveything But A Man directed by Nnegest Likke

Best Supporting Actor

Devone Jones in Pizza Shop Directed by Devone Jones

Best Supporting Actress

Anna Bauert in Horizon directed by Stephan Elliott

Official Finalists Film

Charlie's Gift directed by Duane Journey
#sugarwater directed by Jo Lewis
Four Motherless Children directed by Ralph Isenberg
Hitching a Ride on Entropy directed by Alejandra Leibovich
Among the Believers directed by Hemal Trivedi and Mohammed Ali Naqvi
J directed by Florin Marksteiner
Organic Love Stories directed by Alpgiray M. Ugurlu
Slim directed by Michael Arell
The Secret of Joy directed by Max Bartoli
An Ideal Marriage directed by Ted Sharks

Honorable Mentions Film

The Parallel Project directed by Barrett Gregory
The Reaping directed by Roberto D'Antona
Happy Tree directed by Yunyi Zeng
Perceptions directed by Eha Urbsalu
Six Years A Memory directed by Wilson Mbiavanga
Memories of Warsaw directed by Robert Webster Y
ou Got A Problem directed by Charles Mandracchia
My Spicy Grandma directed by Tianwei Wang
Heavenkid directed by Derrick, Yung-Te, and Wu
Last Winter directed by Daniel Wyland
Heart of the Bull directed by Nicolas Scroggins

Screenplay Competition Categories

Feature Screenplay Competition

Grand Prize:  The Experiment written by Jeffrey Allen Russel and Lynda Lemberg
Special Marquee:  The Barking Spider written by Robert Gately
Silver Prize: The whistler written by Debra Johnson, Dre Edmonds
Bronze Prize: The Midnight Son written by Levi A. Taylor

Short Screenplay

Grand Prize: Peacefully written by Miguel J. Ramirez
Special Marquee: The Blueprint written by Tatyana Jackson
Silver Prize: Graffiti Cat written by Tatiana Radzik
Bronze Prize: The Barking Spider (short) written by Robert Gately, Lois Gately

Original Television Pilot

Grand Prize:  The Case of the Tattooed Redhead written by Jim Norman
Special Marquee: Spy High written by Jeff Woodward
Silver Prize: Inferno The Series written by Andrea Malpighi
Bronze Prize: Jeff the Cyborg Who Works at the Mall written by Adam Modiano

First time Screenwriters

Grand Prize:  Dollar Down written by J. Michael Aiken
Special Marquee: Their Souls Cry Out written by Miller Bargeron Jr. 
Silver Prize: The Wonderful written by Demitra Papadinis
Bronze Prize: Surprise Divorce written by William Ebert

Spec Television Script

Grand Prize: Tantalum Mass: The Last Hacker written by David Garrett

Stage Play

Grand Prize:  Christmas Pops written by John Ponton
Special Marquee: Do Us Part written by Karen Lukesh
Silver Prize: Beyond the Glass written by Francis DiClemente
Bronze Prize: Music Between Us written by Tal Rayman

Official Finalists Screenplay

Let’s Solve a Murder or Two written by Curtis Lofgren
Lazarus written by Marcelle A. Davis
Lighthouse written by Derrick Ferguson and Jonathan Cook 
Hormones Unite written by Debra S. Johnson
The Last Vikings written by David Thorndill
For Later Times written by Miguel J. Ramirez
The Cypherian: Lineage written by D.K. Johnston
Nefertiti's Love written by Michael Austen
Resurrection Time Conspiracy written by James Carroll
I Met Her at Birkenau written by Laurie Clemens Maier


Sign UP!

Get inside news on special events and offers.

Latest Tweet

We're on Facebook

© 2019 American Movie Awards