Quick Facts

Who doesn't love quick, easy to digest bullet points and information?  Here are some media-friendly facts and statistics about The American Movie Awards.

Key Facts

The American Movie Awards were originally founded in 1980 with winners such as Meryl Streep, Warren Beatty, Clint Eastwood, and Steven Spielberg.  The event's mission is to award and recognize the very best in independent filmmaking and screenwriting and to help launch the careers of talented new filmmakers and screenwriters.  The American Movie Awards have reemerged to become one of indie film's most respected symbols of success. The annual American Movie Awards is an international event and receives entries from across the United States and over 60 countries worldwide.  American Movie Awards are awarded in over 25 categories.


Winners of the American Movie Awards are chosen by a judging panel consisting of a consortium of film and entertainment industry experts, including directors, screenwriters, actors, development executives, professional screenplay readers, and other industry professionals.

Judging Criteria

Film Winners are selected for awards based on excellence in the following criteria:

Originality, Creativity, Plot, Pacing, Structure, Characters, Cinematography, Direction, Writing, Entertainment Value, Overall Quality of Production

Screenwriting Winners are selected for awards based on excellence in the following criteria:

Concept, Presentation, Structure, Plot, Pacing, Characters, Dialogue, Theme, Style, Overall Quality of Screenplay


Recognition as an American Movie Awards Winner, Nominee or Official Finalist puts you in an esteemed group of exceptional film industry talent.



Sign UP!

Get inside news on special events and offers.

Latest Tweet

We're on Facebook

© 2019 American Movie Awards