Honoring the Best in Indie Film


Originally founded in 1980 and televised nationally, the American Movie Awards arose to honor excellence in filmmaking, with winners such as Meryl Streep, Warren Beatty, Clint Eastwood, and Steven Spielberg. The awards influenced a generation of ambitious filmmakers with dreams to one day be recognized for their filmmaking achievements before their industry colleagues and the entertainment industry alike.

Under new direction and with a renewed spirit, the American Movie Awards has reemerged to celebrate the very best in independent filmmaking.  Our annual film and screenwriting competition is an important event aimed at recognizing independent filmmakers who are truly at the forefront of their craft as well as launching the careers of aspiring storytellers whose talent is of a caliber that demands accolade.

The Call for Entries to the American Movie Awards is now open and underway. The competition is open to independent filmmakers of every age, genre and experience level.  To submit a film or screenplay visit the submissions page. Good luck!

Screenplay Competition

The American Movie Awards proudly supports the craft of screenwriting by featuring an annual, international feature, short, and television screenwriting contest designed to recognize and help launch the careers of talented new screenwriters. 

Are you ready to enter your film or screenplay into this year's competition?  Visit our Submissions page.


Sign UP!

Get inside news on special events and offers.

Latest Tweet

We're on Facebook

© 2019 American Movie Awards